National Athletic Training Month – Compassionate Care for All

Join us in celebrating the athletic trainer and athletic training profession. March is National Athletic Training Month and this year’s theme is, “Compassionate Care for All”. Please view the various links on this web site to learn more about the SDATA. To learn more about the athletic training profession, please visit the links below:

National Athletic Trainers Association

AT Your Own Risk

Board of Certification

Commission on Accreditation in Athletic Training Education

Happy National Athletic Training Month!

Posted in Advocacy, Latest News | Comments Off on National Athletic Training Month – Compassionate Care for All

SDATA Capitol Hill Day

SDATA leadership and members sponsored a legislative breakfast February 26, 2018. The members met and spoke with many legislators across the state to discuss the profession of athletic training. Pictured are Kacie Mikkelsen, Dustin Gebur (SDATA Vice President), Trevor Roiger (SDATA President), Chris Huot, Randi Christensen (SDATA Secretary), and SDSU athletic training student JD Shape.

Posted in Advocacy, Latest News | Comments Off on SDATA Capitol Hill Day

2017 SDATA Award Winners

The SDATA is honored to recognize the following individuals for their hard work in supporting and advancing the athletic training profession in South Dakota. The 2017 SDATA award winners are:

Friends of Athletic Training:

  • Dr. Jonathan Olson – Aberdeen, SD
  • Dr. Bradley Reeves – Sioux Falls, SD
  • Dr. Stephen Foley – Sioux Falls, SD
  • Dr. Keith Baumgarten – Sioux Falls, SD

Male Iron Will:

  • Tayton Vincent – Sioux Valley HS
  • Terry Truex – Orthopedic Institute

Female Iron Will:

  • Shannon Sokolowski – Irene Wakonda HS
  • Darred Nelson – Orthopedic Institute

Athletic Training Student of the Year:

  • Kayla Schaunaman – SDSU

Athletic Training Educator of the Year:

  • Brad Pfeifle – Orthopedic Institute, SDSU

Athletic Trainer of the Year:

  • Steve Fryberger – Pro-PT, Huron School District

Congratulations to all the award winners.

L-R: Dr. Keith Baumgarten, Brad Pfeifle, Steve Fryberger, Terry Truex, Tayton Vincent, Shannon Sokolowski, Darred Nelson, Kayla Schaunaman, Dr. Bradley Reeves
Posted in Honors & Awards, Latest News | Comments Off on 2017 SDATA Award Winners